Brittle Star Lost a Leg....

Discussion in 'Inverts' started by fantomas, Feb 8, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. fantomas

fantomas Astrea Snail

And its still moving. Just wondering if when brittle stars lose their legs the lost limp keeps moving. It doesn't SEEM to be caused by the water current... but could. Its been over 24 hours and the little fingers on the underside are still moving... and when a shrimp attacks it, the entire limb worms around. I'm pretty new at saltwater and this is the first lost limb I've had! so exciting!!

2. Click Here!

3. omard

omard Gnarly Old Codfish

Starfish Regeneration

"...Among the amazing abilities of starfish is a remarkable talent for regeneration. A starfish that loses a ray can grow a whole new one, given time. Most species can only regenerate if the central part of the body is intact, but a few species can grow back even from a single ray. Those species, like Linckia, will regenerate several whole starfish from a single starfish that gets torn apart."

Can also grow back from a single leg!

[​IMG]

"...Linckia regenerating five rays from a single surviving ray. Specimens like this are often called "comets"..."

May yours also!

Good Luck!

4. fantomas

fantomas Astrea Snail

interesting... That's what I'm hoping for. I searched a bit but couldn't find anything (or used the wrong search terms) is there any documentation on this happening to a brittle star?

On the flip side, I wonder what's wrong with my tank to make the brittle do that... the tank inhabitants include (but not limited to):
    2 Bangaii cardinals, Firefish, Coral Beauty Angel, Royal Gramma, 2 Peppermint Shrimp, Rock Boring Sea Urchin, Brittle Star, a Bumble Bee Snail, a Hermit Crab and tons of tiny tiny white starfish and mini brittles. None of those would attack the Brittle (AFAIK). Next check is the water perimeters (will do it when i wake up in a few hours)