Birdsnest turning white

Discussion in 'SPS Corals' started by lmr2o, Jan 11, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. lmr2o

lmr2o Millepora

I bought a fairly large birdsnest a little over 3 weeks ago. When I bought it there were small white parts near the bottom and the tips, but it's spread. Heres some pics

Days 1-7 it was on the sand.

Days 7-14 I moved it up a few inches
    [​IMG]

Days 14-21
    [​IMG]

A closer look at it when I moved it to the top
    [​IMG]

And here it is today
    [​IMG]

I had to have moved it too close to the light too soon - right? It's back at the bottom now, is there anything I can do?

2. Click Here!

3. Tmobo

Tmobo T-Rev

I'm no sps expert but I would say that looks pretty far gone. Maybe frag off the pieces that are still alive and place them midway up and see how they do over a couple weeks. Also check your params and see if anything is out of whack

4. lmr2o

lmr2o Millepora

thanks - I did frag two pieces yesterday and will probably get any more tips that still have color fragged. It was my first sps but I knew it looked bad.

params since i've got it have been
    salinity 1.025
    calc 420-440
    mag 1240-1320
    alk 6.5-8dkh (been raising it slowly .3dkh every night to get it up)
    ph 8.2
    nitrates 5

lighting is two mh 250w 14k and two t12 actinics

5. Atticus818

Atticus818 Eyelash Blennie

Sadly it's tissue is coming off. It is pretty much done. How stable have those parameters been? Because they all look good, even the low alk would be fine, however if there is alot of movement in those (I.e up and down with water changes, or over/under dosing) that would be the cause.

Looks to be a fair amount of algae in the system too, so that trate reading may be a bit off. What test kits are you using?

1 person likes this.
  6. lmr2o

lmr2o Millepora