Big Mistake

Discussion in 'RapidLED' started by gabbyr189, Aug 19, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. gabbyr189

gabbyr189 Bubble Tip Anemone

Not really familiar with LEDs/electrical wiring, etc. I bought a RapidLED setup from someone selling one they had already built. I had a problem with two of the bulbs, so I purchased a multimeter and was trying to make sure everything was wired correctly. I have 48 3W crees divided onto four drivers (12 on each).

I was using the multimeter to see how much current passing through bulbs on one circuit that was wired correctly. For some reason, I touched the multimeter to two different bulbs at one time. They are wired in series, and I touched bulbs 1 and 8 (I believe). I then heard a sizzle, and even saw a little smoke. I can't believe I did that. Did I short circuit it or something? Again, I am new to electrical wiring/LEDs... However, I am vaguely familiar with the physics/electricity calculation side of things from college physics. Anyway, I am not sure what I need to replace here. Could I have messed up the bulbs? The driver? Both? I would assume bulbs 2-7 would be fine. How can I test the driver/bulbs to see where the problem is?

2. Click Here!

3. Rapid LED

Rapid LED 3reef Sponsor

My guess is you shorted out those LEDs, possibly more. If you can wire up two AA batteries in series with leads coming off both ends, then you can test an individual LED to see if it'll still light up. Alternatively, Radio Shack sells something like this that you can use instead of wiring the batteries up yourself: AA Battery LED Tester - Rapid LED

Anything is possible but I doubt you messed up the driver, usually it's just the LED(s) that are harmed. Also, which driver do you have and how many LEDs in your string?

4. ska d

ska d Spanish Shawl Nudibranch