Best two part system?

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by tattoolew, Dec 11, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. tattoolew

tattoolew Sea Dragon

So I have been reading several posts along with talking to some local guys and I was wandering about using a 2part dosing system. I do not currently dose anything and do water changes every week or week and a half. Does anyone recommend any certain brands and online stores to get them at? I hear good things about Two little fishes and BRS but I am really new to the idea of dosing.

2. Click Here!

3. tattoolew

tattoolew Sea Dragon

Bump? Does anyone recommend a brand/system?

4. Daniel072

Daniel072 Giant Squid

5. Daniel072

Daniel072 Giant Squid

BTW sorry I didn't see it the other day. I just made this solution for myself the other night. About 10 bucks for 2 gallons of each supplement including magnesium. Not too shabby

6. smoyer

smoyer Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

BRS is the best value I have used.

7. tattoolew

tattoolew Sea Dragon

Thanks, the DIY route seems cool I may try it later but don't know if I'm ready yet.

8. Click Here!

9. Daniel072

Daniel072 Giant Squid

It's super simple buddy. Here's the skinny. You get some driveway heat and use 2 cups mixed with enough water to make a gallon. That's your Calcium portion.

You take baking soda, 2 1/4 cups, put it in the oven for an hour and mix it with enough water to make a gallon. There's your alk portion.

You take 8 cups of Epsom salts, dissolve it in enough water to make a gallon and there's your magnesium.

Way too easy and you can have it done today =)

This is one of the easiest DIY's you can do in this hobby.

10. HeiHei29er

HeiHei29er Gigas Clam