Are water changes a must?

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by Inf3cted, May 21, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Inf3cted

Inf3cted Plankton

Hi everyone,

Sorry to sound dumb, I'm new to this hobby and haven't been able to find a good answer to this question.... But why are partial water changes important? I understand that water quality is important to livestock. But what exactly does a water change do that isn't already being done by filtration, protein skimming, etc...

Thanks in advance!

1 person likes this.
  2. Click Here!

3. z.vernon

z.vernon Bristle Worm

correct me if i'm wrong but i think that it replaces essential minerals and such that skimming could actually remove from the tank....

4. Inf3cted

Inf3cted Plankton

Hmmmm... you would know more than I do. But if that's the case, it wouldn't seem very logical as some people use reverse osmosis in their tanks which basically strips all minerals from the water. Any thoughts?

5. jamieg666

jamieg666 Astrea Snail

To begin, water changes are the most effective form of filtration. They indiscriminately remove everything in the water...from algae fuels such as nitrates and phosphates, to gill burning ammonia. These nutrients can build up in a system and quickly get out of control, especially in smaller aquariums. A protein skimmer, phosphate reactor, and a deep sand bed can all remove nutrients, but each has their own set of limitations. None of these are 100% effective, but a water change is a lot closer to being that effective. You can remove all of the water from your aquarium and replace it with new, phosphate and nitrate-free water. Water changes also add to the stability of your system. By not letting harmful nutrients build up, the water quality stays stable and your tank's inhabitants can thrive.