Aqueon 36 gal Bowfront

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by bwahaha, Jan 3, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. bwahaha

bwahaha Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

Hi all.
    I'm new to the reef tank hobby, though I've had experience with freshwater. I have recently acquired a 36 gallon Aqueon Bowfront tank, and I had a few questions.
    I have live rock, and I don't plan on corals until budget allows for better lighting and the corals themselves.
    First, I added the marine salt about a week ago, but the water is still somewhat cloudy and there is a fine layer of sediment coating the entire tank and fixtures. The water is heated and circulating at 750 GPH, so why would this be? And what could I do to take care of it, besides physically going in there with paper towels and wiping the entire surface?
    Second, I plan on taking this slow, but what would be some good fish? I've put a bit of thought into it, but as I'm new to this I wanted some more experienced input. I'd like to have:
    2 Shrimp gobies (mated pair)
    1 pistol shrimp
    2 Ocellaris Clowns (mated pair)
    1 Royal Gramma
    1 firefish (unless they are a schooling species...?)
    1 Neon goby (again, unless they are a schooling species, in which case more would be included of the tank can support them, or the species omitted entirely if it couldn't.)
    and then of course a cleaning crew.
    What do you guys think? would this be asking to much of my tank?
    thanks

2. Click Here!

3. Va Reef

Va Reef Giant Squid

Welcome to 3reef and the salty side.

Going slow is always good, a lot of newer people often don't.

To answer your question about the layer of sediment, I'd increase your flow, you're currently at 21X turnover rate, and IMO should shoot for around 30-50, especially if you wanna keep corals later on. Is the 750gph coming from one pump/powerhead?