Another Taotronics light review.. The Good and Bad

Discussion in 'LED Aquarium Lighting' started by jaymostella, May 11, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. jaymostella

jaymostella Skunk Shrimp

Ok keep in mind I am no expert.. I ordered the lights to save some money as I had priced out rapdiled and ledgroupbuy prices and these were far less than either of those...

I ordered the dimmable version of ebay for 400 shipped.. Had a estimated delivery date of 3-4 weeks. Item came directly from Hong Kong. I actually received the lights 7 days after ordered. Came well packaged in plain brown box.

I am tired so I am going to speed through the rest...

I replaced a 6' aquapro light that had 4 x150w mh and 4x 96w actinics. I only bought 2 of the LED as that seemed to be what others with a 125 were ordering.. Yes they are bright but not near as I expected. Nor are they anywhere as close to as bright as my other light. The blue is pretty and makes the coral pop like I had hoped... I prefer the white at 60-70% and blues 70-80%... I had to hang, rehang. rehang and on and on to find the best position to get optimal and equal lighting to entire tank... I tried level, high, low, lower, higher, angled, straight and on and on.. I finally found that hanging them in a "V" shape with ~4" gap between the 2 lights provided the best coverage and least amount of shadows. I will add some pics of how they are hung tomorrow..

My bigger issue.... One of my lights are noticably brighter than the other... I think I am going to contact the seller and see what options I have. I plan on ordering a 3rd light so it maybe ok to just use the dimmers to make them all the same...

Here is a quick summary:

1 - Lights are pretty when all blue
    2 - Good adjustment options with dimmers
    3- Dimmers are lacking. Hard to explain but they are not "smooth" as I felt they should be.. Once at 80% very little difference from 80-100