"Ammonia" why

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by kukulkan, Dec 10, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

  1. kukulkan

    kukulkan Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Hello people, I have a little problem I have been testing my water for the last 2 months and my API test is still showing ammonia, even on the new batch of premix water outside the tank, and using R/O water. I believed tank cycled about 2 weeks ago. Are this test lying to me ? is it possible that there is ammonia on water that is not even been contaminated.
    Thanks
     
  2. Click Here!

  3. sostoudt

    sostoudt Giant Squid

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    5,958
    Location:
    Chesterfield, VA
    Your test kit is bad buy a new one,
     
  4. Corailline

    Corailline Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    19,652
    Location:
    It is a dry heat, yeah right !
    Yep...
     
  5. rogersjw

    rogersjw Skunk Shrimp

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    276
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I agree.... I think it may be possible that there is ammonia in your water since I dont believe RODI unit will get rid of the ammonia (AZDesertRat can probably correct me if Im wrong). How much is your test reading on the new RODI water?
     
  6. fischkid2

    fischkid2 Dirty Filter Sock

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2010
    Messages:
    670
    Location:
    Chicago
    Yar, get new kit. Do you have a LFS that will test for you?
     
  7. kukulkan

    kukulkan Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    This is what I don't understand RODI water itself reads "0", once is mixed with instant ocean then reads ammonia, and it reads at 0.25 ppm of may be less, that goes for the tank to. the kits are brand new, so hope is just the API kits giving false readings.
    Thanks again
     
  8. Click Here!

  9. Blue Falcon

    Blue Falcon Fire Goby

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,301
    Location:
    NC
    It could very well be your test kits. I would take a sample to your LFS and have them test it before you buy new test kits.
     
  10. SushiGirl

    SushiGirl Barracuda

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,457
    I've heard of freshly made saltwater giving an ammonia reading, but not after it's been mixed for any amount of time.
     
  11. Nor_Cal_Guy

    Nor_Cal_Guy Gigas Clam

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    885
    Location:
    Grass Valley, CA
    Or just don't buy API kits anymore...
     
  12. kukulkan

    kukulkan Astrea Snail

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Seriously, not buying those anymore, tomorrow will take a sample to LFS to have them check for me
    Thanks for help