Am I feeding them right?

Discussion in 'Fish Food' started by twobjustme, Nov 20, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. twobjustme

twobjustme Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

I am new to this and just put my first fish in my tank yesterday. I have 2 clowns. I was instructed to use NEW LIFE SPECTRUM, and to only feed each of them 2 pellets twice a day. I have dropped these teeny tiny pellets in the water, but have not seen either of them eat them and the food totally disappears almost immediately. Am I doing this right?

2. Click Here!

3. Ultraner

Ultraner Purple Spiny Lobster

I would say 2 pellets a day would be really hard to regulate. I would dispense a small amount in my hand and slowly distribute it in the water. You dont want to over feed but its gonna be hard to get them just 2 pellets and hope they find them.

4. Puffer Chick

Puffer Chick Giant Squid

my clowns are pigs they eat like crazy, if they don't go after the pellets try a small amount frozen mysis and brine shrimp soaked in garlic mine love this stuff and go crazy over it.

5. greebs

greebs Flamingo Tongue

Well, my clowns went through a lot of stress from shipping, etc. and they were so surprised with their new surrounding that they didn't even see the food. I got them to feed by getting their attention by tapping at the top of the water with my finger. My clowns were so curious that they would go half way up the tank and then i would drop some food in for them to see. I used flake spirulina mixed with some other flakes. I think if you use this, they might start eating. You have to get creative and get their attention. I think that is a biggie, along with using a food that won't disappear quickly. Try reducing filter flow and things like that so they don't miss their chance at eating.

1 person likes this.
  6. steve wright

steve wright Super Moderator

twobjustme