alternative to live rock?

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by beastmaker22, Dec 28, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. beastmaker22

beastmaker22 Plankton

Hello and i hope yall had a merry Christmas!

I think it goes without saying, but I'm new to the saltwater hobby(I have some freshwater background though!). And loving all of the info your site has to offer!

So my question is, is oyster rock a good alternative to purchased live rock?

Let me add some detail in here. my friend lives on a bay(Ochlockonee bay in panacea, for you fellow Floridians). Me and him go fishing every now and then, and he took me out to an oyster bar at low tide. That's where he gets his crabs for bait. Anyway there's some rock there that's always above water and some in between and some below. My friend breaks 'em open to get the crabs out. So i was wondering if these rocks were ok to use. I tried to get a pic off of google but all i came up with was pics of oysters of the food kind...::)
    I'll give the best description i can give though. They are really porous, have lots of larger holes for good water circulation, and its pretty easy to break off some areas so they can be sculpted. if you get some some of the rocks that are in the water still they have live oysters on them too.

So I'm runnin this question by you guys and let me know if its plausible or not. Thanks for the time!

2. Click Here!

3. TheSaltwaterGuy

TheSaltwaterGuy Banned

hmm interesting; i personally am not sure but I'd love to know too

4. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator

Welcome to 3reef. I would first check that you are not breaking any laws before removing the rock. I would be wary if it is OK because the oysters would foul your tank quickly if they die. It sounds like it is calcium carbonate rock or something close by your description.

5. Kevin3884

Kevin3884 Tassled File Fish