Urgent All help appreciated please

Discussion in 'ASAP' started by rcflyer1388, Mar 25, 2013.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. rcflyer1388

rcflyer1388 Bubble Tip Anemone

So I decided to add some polyp coral into the tank. A day after the addition of the coral the fish start acting funny. they have been towards the bottom of the tank and not very active. They were eating fine. today, I come to find out since I'm out of state for a few days that the fish aren't eating at all and are getting shivers. Water tests and conditions were good with only nitrates being at 20ppm before I left. And all this started after addition of corals. I have a yellow tang, 2 clowns, 2 domino damsels and 3 blue damsels. I'm really hoping I don't return home to an empty tank. I'm fairly new to the hobby and this is an issue I don't know where to start going with to resolve. I'm thinking a possible toxin from corals??

2. Click Here!

3. SAY

SAY Ocellaris Clown

What type of coral?

4. Toallhisdoom

Toallhisdoom Dragon Wrasse

Coral type?

Paramaters?

Water temp?

Why are your nitrates at 20ppm? Should be at 0.

Age of tank?

Size of tank?

Filtration?

5. chelseagrin

chelseagrin Fire Goby

^ this

6. rcflyer1388

Coral type....honestly I forgot the names and wrote them down at home. I will update that when I get back in a few days. I just know they are various colony polyps.

water temp constant 79
    ammonia, nitrites 0 ph 8.1
    SG 1.024

nitrates were at 40 but found the problem using filter socks and after removing those it fell to 20.
    refuge with protein skimmer and chaeto and ulva

And also running filter sock with GFO and Carbon.

7. chelseagrin

chelseagrin Fire Goby

Age of tank???

Size of tank???

8. Click Here!

9. rcflyer1388

sorry left that out. age of tank is about 4 1/2 months. and it's a 55 gal

10. reefmonkey

reefmonkey Giant Squid