alk dropped? IDK why?

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by crustytheclown, Jan 2, 2012.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. crustytheclown

crustytheclown Eyelash Blennie

Ive been running a 40gal breeder for six months on a dosing schedule. I dose for Cal, Alk and Mag. I have done tests about every week since i started dosing and my alk has always been between 10-11dkh. My mag has stayed in the 1500s, and my calcium has stayed between 400-500. So i did my tests this week and realized that my alk has dropped from 10-11 to 8-9 dkh. I also noticed that the dkh in my 14 gal has dropped from 7-8 to 5 dkh. I just did tests on my 14gal and im at mag 1455 and cal 440 . Im really confused as to what is happening. I have been using the same salt mix for my weekly water changes too. Why is my alkalinity decreasing at such a fast rate?

2. Click Here!

3. sticksmith23

sticksmith23 Giant Squid

Have you added any new corals or inverts?

4. steve wright

steve wright Super Moderator

from your description above it seems like demand has escalated beyond your current supply routine

The Calc level you state between 400 and 500 is to extreme a range making it difficult to asses if the situation is abnormaly high Alk demand (fighting low PH issues etc
    or if in fact it is linear demand

let us assume your calcium level was over 450 whilst your Alk was 10- 11
    now your Calcium is 420 , that in itself would balance out with the 2 DKH reduction
    (typically in a reef set up, there is only about 7ppm drop in calcium for every 1 degree of DKH reduction)

thus my opinion is , you need to increase the amount of both calcium and alkalinity you are adding

what form of additions are you using?
    what method of dosing are you doing (manual or automated )?

Steve

5. crustytheclown

Hey Steve. Thanks for chiming in. This is happening in two tanks.

50gal system
    12-13-11
    Mag 1620
    Cal 490
    Alk 10-11