Algone....has any1 heard of this product?

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by tinydove, Feb 16, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. tinydove

tinydove Plankton

:-/ Hi All,

I am new to this hobby and was wondering if anyone has heard of this product called... Algone? It is used to keep your nitrate in check and also for help with brown algee and other things. www.algone.com

I have a 55g new set-up that has been cycling for just over 4 weeks now and I noticed that I am getting brown algae on my LR and on my glass. My salitity is at: 1.022 , Ammo. 0ppm , PH 8.4 , Nitrite 0.ppm and nitrate 5.0ppm. ( just tested all)

Has anyone ever heard of this product or ever used it and do you know if it is safe for a new set-up?

Any input would be of great help to me, thanks all.

2. Click Here!

3. Scuba

Scuba Fire Shrimp

What did you use to start your tanks cycle? As to the Algone, I would try to stay away from it if you can, get some kind of Algae eater kit.

4. Jason McKenzie

Jason McKenzie Super Moderator

I think SCUBA is correct. Adding any chemical algae controller is always hit and miss.
    As part of a tanks maturation process there is always a brown algae bloom. I would get some snails and hermit crabs. Then wait out the algae. It will go away. But first it's going to get really bad. You just have to be very patient and live through it.

Personally when this occurred in my tank. It drove me nuts. So I performed small water changes. But I removed the water with a very thin Airline hose and used it like a vacuum. It made me feel better but did little to slow the advancement of the algae. But trust me it goes away in about two to three weeks.

J

5. Land_Fish

Land_Fish Guest

Scuba Duba Doo and Mr Boo Jakets are correct.
    Your tank is still cycling here. Get some snails and crabs or as some call them a cleaning crew.
    A lawnmower blenny would help out also.