Age old question

Discussion in 'Reef Lighting' started by Poseidon27, Mar 18, 2014.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Poseidon27

Poseidon27 Flamingo Tongue

Aright guys, this is the age old question but I want some input before I commit to something and make a $400+ mistake. So I'm ugrading my 75G to a 125g and obviously my 48" light just isn't going to cut it plus the circuit board is bad and won't fire one of the ballast (I've tried replacing it with two different brands and nothing), so it needs to go. On a side note I've been growing SPS on 2 T5HO ATI bulbs for 8 months and they've done awesome. But I am on a pretty tight budget and I've found a noce Odessea 72" MH with T5HO fixture for less than $400 (plus leave the Odessea bashing out, I've done A LOT of research on this fixture and seen it in person and its really good for the price) I've also found a 12 lamp T5 Aquaticlife but its used and $500 but I could probably haggle him down to around $400, or I can get a LED set of one Aqua illumination and one off-brand LED fixture for around $450. So I'm leaning more toward the T5 or the LED set up but my question is would 2 LED fixtures be enought for a 6ft tank? Or would the T5 be better? The only thing that I'm leary about the T5 is having to buy 12 bulbs for the thing ha.

Second question: How often do you need to change the bulbs in your fixtures? I've heard many different things but want to get some experiences on this.

Thanks guys

2. Click Here!

3. mdbostwick

mdbostwick Vlamingii Tang

how long are the LED fixtures?

4. Poseidon27

About 1 foot each. One is just blue/white and the other is full spectrum. I will be upgrading the blue/white down the road but for now I think that it will be ok.

5. mdbostwick

depending on the degree on the lenses, you could get full coverage. You would probably be happier with 24 inch fixtures. 2 total feet of light is not a lot when you are trying to cover 6 feet.