Active Carbon

Discussion in 'Filters, Pumps, etc..' started by wswensonjr, Jul 19, 2006.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. wswensonjr

wswensonjr Astrea Snail

I am new to saltwater setups. I have the following

55 gal acrylic tank
    wet/dry filter
    Magnum 220 filter
    protien skimmer

I am wondering about using active carbon in the Magnum 220??? Do I use it all the time, only sometimes, or never????

I was also wondering about using bio-balls or ?? not sure...

Plans
    I am planning on purchasing LR for the tank
    I am looking to due coral and fish

any advise or helpful tip would be great..

Thanks for all your help and time
    Walter

2. Click Here!

3. chetrod

chetrod Peppermint Shrimp

I use Carbon all the time now. At first I never used it but I had a hard time with algea and yellow water. Now its always crystal clear. If you have enough rock in your tank then you will not need the bio balls the rock works as a bio filter. IF purchasing rock litlle by little then use the bio balls until you have enough rock.

4. rickzter

rickzter Torch Coral

There is nothing wrong with using carbon 24/7. In fact, I would encourage you to use it. It will help polish your water and remove organics and such. It will do a good job keeping the water free of chemicals. One thing is that carbon may remove beneficial chemicals added to a reef. As long as you dose weekly, you should be ok.

It all depends on you on how you wanna use it. As for me, I run it 24/7 all year long. Of course, I change it every month. ;D

5. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid

I wouldn,t use the bio balls. Ok for removing ammonia and nitrite by creating a living environment for bacteria such as nitrobacter and nitrosomas, they do not help to remove nitrates and actually will aid in raising nitrate levels. If you have live rock and live sand, you don't need the bio-balls especially if you are going to have a reef set-up.