Acrylic question.

Discussion in 'RARS' started by highdesertreef, Apr 6, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. highdesertreef

highdesertreef Flamingo Tongue

Does anyone locally do or know someone who does custom acrylic work? I am looking to possibly have a custom sump/fuge built to fit under my hex 35 tank. My only other option is to build a custom stand and use my old 10gal as the sump/fuge unless I can find a cheap/free 2ogal+ tank. The stand I can do myself but I have no experience working with acrylic.

2. Click Here!

3. PackLeader

PackLeader Giant Squid

Not that I know of.
    I would suggest looking at craigslist, or just buying a tank. What kind of space you have to work with?

4. highdesertreef

Not much room to work with. The stand is only about 18 inches from one of the walls to the other. A premade tank will not fit. Either way I will have to slightly tear down the tank and set it back up. My design for the stand is way over engineered, and contains more than enough room for a 30-50gal sump/fuge setup. I just would like to know how much the custom tank would cost before I decide which way to go.

5. PackLeader

PackLeader Giant Squid

I have only looked into it once, but I would expect at least a couple hundred bucks to have custom work done, and since it probably can't be done locally, add shipping to that.
    I would honestly make a stand. Even if you get something custom done, those dimensions seriously limit your size, so it really wouldn't be all that worthwhile anyways IMHO. Or, set up the sump alongside the tank.

6. highdesertreef

I would love to but my 4 year old would use it to climb. I have priced out the stand materials at about 30 bucks and I can get a used tank for under 100 if I work it right. Or buy a setup from CPR for about 200. So It might be worth doing. Thanks.

7. PackLeader

PackLeader Giant Squid