7 Days in and something is growing

Discussion in 'ID This!' started by LukeSchnabel, Apr 6, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. LukeSchnabel

LukeSchnabel Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

Ok so I just started my 75 gallon saltwater tank. Never done this before. I have 65lbs of LR, 6 hermits, 2 clowns and a starfish. It's been 7 days with water in, and 3 days with the rock and the above animals. All my levels are to par, I'm not noticing a change in anything every 2 days. Now I have green mucus slime stuff growing all over some of my rock, also the stuff seems to be producing clear bubbles. it looks green in water and dark brownish almost black out of water. When I pull some off it looks like ink.

Please help, I'm new to this and want to pick up this hobby so bad! :(0

Picture coming tomorrow

2. Click Here!

3. Zander

Zander Spaghetti Worm

Your tank is cycling, why did you stock it with fish?

4. LukeSchnabel

I was told i could put clowns in while it's cycling to produce some sort of ammonia. Hermits and starfish ended up in LR for free :)

5. scadsobees

scadsobees Fire Shrimp

Clowns are pretty tough, but it is still a risk to them to cycle with them in... it does help to cycle with ready live rock, but you're seeing one of the effects...

Probably cyanobacteria, but possibly dinoflagellates or diatoms, all of which thrive when the amount nutrients in the water are too high. You can suction it out, that will remove some of the nutrients out, but it will continue to grow until the cycle is complete. Normal.

You might want to consider returning the clowns for a few weeks just in case, and instead throw a raw dead food shrimp like the kind people eat in there, that will produce all the ammonia you need (and not kill anything) .