55G stocking

Discussion in 'General Freshwater Information' started by Pinoyxprss, Aug 21, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Pinoyxprss

Pinoyxprss Plankton

Guy, i wanted input on stocking my 55G, i'm new in the hobby, I have been reading and still have very little understanding of different type of fishes.

Here's my equipment, 55gallon long, topfin 60 filter. I want to keep the fishes under 3 inches if all possible, I would also like lots of colors.

I'm looking at a
    pleco,
    red wag platy,
    golden dojo,
    red gold tuxedo guppy,
    yellow and torquise guppy,
    long fined red minor tetra,
    fancy guppy

This is just a list made and picked by me and my wife, I know some fishes cant be mixed with others. Any inputs are appreciated.

Thanks

2. Click Here!

3. 2in10

2in10 Super Moderator

The pleco will grow over 3 inches as will the dojo. The pleco is the only one that will out grow the tank depending on species. I suggest you look up plecostomus on the web to see which one you would like and if it will fit in your tank.

The list should be fine together. The Tetra may nip at the guppies' fins.

4. ferretfish

ferretfish Sea Dragon

most off those fish are peaceful and should be good. but i just want to say dojo loaches are my al time favorite FW fish they have great personallitys and are really fun to watch.
    you could do a small school of tetras 4-6 fish
    common plecos get two feet long so u should ask the person you by the fish from about the species of pleco a good pleco for your tank would be rubber lip pleco
    also if you want a pleco i would wait until you see algea because the pleco will probily starve
    good luck with the tank

5. Pinoyxprss

Pinoyxprss Plankton

So pleco and dojo is out, how much fish can i actually place, can i mix species like 2 of each Fish on the list? Thanx

6. ferretfish

ferretfish Sea Dragon

you can have a school of tetras 4-5