55g Build.. *first SW tank

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by nyvw, Dec 4, 2011.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. nyvw

nyvw Skunk Shrimp

Hey guys, ive been checking out the site nonstop for the past 2 months and and decided to make the move from fw to sw. Ive decided to do a FOWLR tank then down the road add a few corals. ATM, i have a 20g setup with a gsp that i want to acclimate to the sw tank. I imagine that he wont do well with any type of corals and most other species of fish so im kinda stuck on what to do with him for now, knowing that he shouldnt be in the fw tank. anyway onto the build so far..

I picked up a 55g tank with a stand and lights off craigslist. The stand turned out to be in much worse condition than i thought, plus i wanted to make extra room under the dt, for a sump. so i tore that thing up and ended up building a custom stand, reusing just the doors from the old one.

Here is the stand so far as of today. Obviously still needs to be trimmed up and stained. But mostly finished.
    [​IMG]

The tank is another story, i bought it know that it was dirty and had algae on it and i figured it would be all that bad to clean, boy was i wrong... a few blades and about an hour later and its still not clean, plus its scratched to ish! im thinking about scrapping the tank and buying a new 55g from petland as they have a $1/gallon sale on there tanks right now, might as well start with a brand new tank... so much for the craigslist deal i thought i got.

It did come with some nice lights though, a retrofit ahsupply 2x55w setup. Im guessing this will be sufficient for a fowlr tank but if i want corals im pretty sure ill have to upgrade. Also i know im going to need new bulbs as the previous owner used these to grow fw plants, any suggestions?
    The lights
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]