2x150, 175 or 250W MH? (+) Double ended or Single -120G, 48x24x25

Discussion in 'Metal Halide Aquarium Lighting' started by infamous, Nov 4, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. infamous

infamous Corkscrew Tentacle Anemone

What are the differences between a 150, 175 and 250 as far as the amount of light and heat they produce? (no chiller)

What is the difference in the double ended and single ended halide bulbs?

and Which one would be right for my tank?

I was looking at few options.

The fixture is nice and clean but limits light and the reflects are not the best quality.

The retro on the other hand is a better deal but i don't know how to install a retro kit. I build computers for a living so i think i can do this :)

First one is
    48 inch Current USA SunPod 2x150W 14K HQI-MH w/ 18 Lunar Lights
    Price: $510.00 comes with 2x150 Bulbs
    Price: $710.00 comes with 2x250 Bulbs
    Description The Current USA SunPod produces an enormous amount of light and cuts through water to even the deepest depths. The PowerPaq 14,000K HQI metal halide(s) produce the energy your corals will need while also providing the natural shimmering effect found on coral reefs. Powered by our proprietary microprocessor based electronic driving system, the high-intensity blue light produced by the 14,000K PowerPaq HQI is so brilliant—no other supplemental actinic lamps are required.

Dimensions: 8.25"W x 4.5"H
    • Power features—Housed in a sleek aluminum enclosure, the SunPod features an integrated quiet cooling fan and strategically placed side vents, making for a really cool fixture. Hammertone HQI reflector pumps up the light output—all being protected with a sealed glass lens. Plug-and-Play mounting features allow the SunPod to be used on any tank!