20 Gallon Sump build

Discussion in 'I made this!' started by ZachB, Nov 9, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. ZachB

ZachB Giant Squid

Howdy all! I posted a while back regarding which over the back protein skimmer I should use. Thank you very much to all who replied - however, I've decided to go the sump route.

I currently have a 30 gallon tank - I'm going small and learning the ropes as I'm new to the saltwater hobby. I decided I'm going to build a sump out of a 20 gallon long, as this will give me more flexibility, and allow me to use larger equipment as I plan to expand to a 75 gallon once I'm comfortable keeping my 30 gallon stable. I plan to stock it lightly with some corals, hopefully with success. My BTA is still doing well, and I have some Xenia, Rhodactis mushrooms, etc. and all seem to be doing well. I purchased a head of about 40 Zoanthid polyps yesterday, and so far they seem to be hiding - hopefully they open up soon. I figure they're still getting used to the new tank - anybody else experience this?

This is what I plan to do:

One sheet of glass, 12 inches long, secured to the top at the end of the tank, with a bulkhead fitting for the flow into the sump.
    Underneath this, I will have another slide out glass piece with a fitting for a berlin sock, to provide the initial mechanical filtration. I will install 2 6" high baffles, to control water height, at equal lengths, to provide a chamber for the protein skimmer, which will then overflow into the final chamber for the return pump.

I will be using a Marineland Maxi-Jet 1800 for a return pump. For the protein skimmer, I chose one rated for 120 gallons (needle wheel), built locally, which my LFS has been using with success for several display tanks at the shop. It's easy to adjust and maintain, and looks like it pulls quite a lot of gunk at the shop.