12 - Gallon Nano Cube... New at this, want a good

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Spasticat, Jan 20, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Spasticat

Spasticat Plankton

Hi all

I am new to marine aquariums, and I just recently purchased a Nano Cube (http://www.thehiddenreef.com/Pictures/drygoods/Aquarium/sys_nanocube1.jpg)

Anyways, I mixed the salt and poured it on Saturday. After about 24 hrs of filtering, I added sand and living rock. The pet store told me thats all I can have for about a week, and then maybe throw a crab in there.

Then in another week or so I can get some cool looking fish. In the meantime, I have some questions:

1) How long should I keep the light on during the day?

2) I have about 3 lbs of living rock (and little feathery finger things living on them), will this speed up the waiting process?

3) When do I add/change the water? Its already starting to drop a little, and there is a foamy residue at the top of the water line.

4) I dumped a whole thing of sand in the bottom, and to make it look cool the sand is uneven, with kindof a slope coming down from the back right corner. The slope is about 2.5 inches high, and the rest is 1 inch or below... is this going to cause problems if the sand is too dense in some areas?

Any and all feedback is appreciated! I'm most interested in when I can get some fish in there!  [smiley=drummer.gif]

Attached Files:

2. Click Here!

3. Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers Kingfish

Re:  12 - Gallon Nano Cube... New at this, wa

1) I would go 10-12 hours a day on the light.
    2) Rock will help, but I would definitely wait longer before you get fish.
    3) Get in the habit of replacing evaporated water at least once a day to help keep the tank stable. Replace with FRESH water as salt does not evaporate.
    4) I think it will be fine. But many will tell you you should have at least 2 inches of sand in all areas.