Please help with recommended levels for my reef tank?

Discussion in 'Water Chemistry' started by RockinReef, Feb 16, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. RockinReef

RockinReef Plankton

Please Recommend Proper Chemistry Levels for my Reef Tank?

Please understand that I am a rookie so I am learning...

My tank is a 110gal with great lighting (2) 250 MH and (4) HQI, a refuguim with 24/7 lighting and refugium mud, protein skimmer and a chiller set to 78 degrees.

The tank has live rock as well as has a few soft (xenia, etc), a few hard corals (brain, etc) and a 10 smal/med fish. I also have a strong cleanup crew with emerald crabs, snails, tuxedo urchent, (2) pepperment shrimp, and other scavengers.

I want to continue adding a mix of corals now that everything is stable however I am not sure if the chemistry levels are where they should be for soft and hard coral growth and health.

I make my own salt water with a triple stage RO and use reef crystals.

The tank is stabilized however the recommended levels for a reef tanks, are as diverse as the species of fish in the ocean.

Here are the latest details on my tank.

I have been adding Calicum and Alk daily to maintain the following:

Todays Readings: (typical daily also)

Ca 480
    dKh 12
    Mg 1380
    Ph 8.4

I do have a bit of a hard green algae problem that requires frequent scraping (every 2 or 3 days) as the floating magnets won't remove it.

Question 1: What levels or range should I maintain?

Question 2: Should I continue to add calcium and alk daily?

Question 3: Can you recommend an automatic doser and place to get the best deal on one?

Question 4: Any ideas about controlling the hard green algea?