Which Tang

Discussion in 'Tropical Fish' started by Breed, Oct 20, 2006.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Breed

Breed Feather Duster

Hey Guys,

This is my first post on this site and I have read your forums and they are a really great help!

I have a 135 Gallon tank and I have been running it for 5-6 years. It is very stable and full of corals and fish. The only problem I have is that I only have a lemonpeel and a hippo tang that are vegetarians and both are relatively small (3-4 inches each). There is a heap of algae growth around, on the rocks and glass and I was looking for another great tang to throw in there to help with the problem.

What tangs do you guys think are options for the tank. I was thinking along the lines of a Kole or Bristletooth Tomini Tang. Help would be much appreciated.

Cheers,

Breed

2. Click Here!

3. Tangster

Tangster 3reef Sponsor

A Kole will do fine they are very laid back and a great algae eater also a Fox face is a different way to go also a great algae eater and 1st cousins to the tangs. Just get one along the same size as you now have. Now a Kole is a very shy at first tang and not all that easy to settle in if its tweaked and or stressed to much. But if you have lots of rock work then you will have no or little problems and the same all most with a Fox face or aka rabbit fish.. I always liked the old kole or yellow eye tangs.

4. Jason McKenzie

Jason McKenzie Super Moderator

I agree 100% It was actually a FoxFace that showed my Tangs what algae was good to eat

J

5. Breed

Breed Feather Duster

Okay, I think ill go with a Kole Tang. There is something about them that just appeals to me. Thanks for the help guys!!

6. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid

Welcome to 3reef!!!!