Help My Blue Tang is Loosing color at Night

Discussion in 'Tropical Fish' started by TraquaSerenity, Nov 3, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. TraquaSerenity

TraquaSerenity Plankton

Hi,
    I'm new to the hobby have had a 55 gallon salt with two clowns running for 2 mounths. Just added a baby blue tang and I came home yesterday night at 11:30pm and saw him wedged in the Blue Ridge coral. HE LOST HIS COLOR AND WAS AN OPAQUE WITISH BLUE AND HIS BLACK WAS GREY. i worried he was sick but the next morning he had his beautiful blue color again and eat very well. But tonight i noticed he lost his color again and was on his side on the crushed coral bed under a piece of dead coral on his side and then he went back to wedge himself in the Blue ridge. I think he is sick or is this normal What should I do. It is not marine ich I know what that is and have been through it before . I also have a my saliniety at 1.180. I know bule tangs esp. require prestine water conditions and a rigid diet. I think he will pass IS THIS NORMAL. WHAT SHOULD I DO PLEASE HELP ME I DONT WANT TO LOOSE THE FISH. Thank you to all that reply......

2. Click Here!

3. bulltrader

bulltrader Bristle Worm

Sounds strange to me.
    Are you sure about your salinity...should be 1.022 - 1.025 yours would be way too high at 1.180
    If he looks good during the day and eating he must be OK.
    IMO

4. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid

At night or if the particular fish is scarred, often times you will notice that certain fish will have a different color scheme, that will correct itself normally in due time.

5. IBMGeek

IBMGeek Montipora Digitata

I think thats normal. My yellow tang and green chromis also lose color at night. My tang becomes a light yellow/white. And my chromis lose some of the green. Dont worry about it.:)

6. ziggy222

ziggy222 Fire Goby