30G tank, 65 watt 10,000K and 65 watt True Actinic

Discussion in 'Reef Lighting' started by d3javu, Nov 29, 2004.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. d3javu

d3javu Plankton

Hi All,
    I'm new to the hobby. I have a 30 gallon (standard) tank for which I am trying to order some things for. I plan on starting out with a FO tank, some nice white sand and live rock as my bio filter. eventually I would like to add some reef. I have done extended research on everything in general so I think I know where im going with this :), or at least I hope so. I would like my tank to have a nice bright color setup with a little blue of course. I know that a 20k MH setup would provide me with planty of deep blue light for light hungry reef to grow, but I think i would rather have a brighter light instead. Besides I dont think I want to invest that much money and time in to setting a MH lighting system. So here is my question.

I need some one's opinion on this light setup:

65 watt 10,000K and 65 watt True Actinic 03 Blue straight pin base compact fluorescent lamps. which I found here:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=46314&item=4337263172&tc=photo

I was wondering if this would provide me with enough light /wattage for the tank. My understanding is that at least 3 watts per gallon should be enough. Also, what does the True Actinic 03 Blue light do for the tank? more blue I color I assume???

When I get everything else for my tank I will add to my signature :)
    so far the only thing i have is a Magnum 250 pro filter and a tank and allot of desire to get started with my new hobby.

thanks in advance!

-J

2. Click Here!

3. Diver_1298

Diver_1298 Eyelash Blennie

Re: 30G tank, 65 watt 10,000K and 65 watt True Act