Suggestions getting into corals

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by margieinaz, Sep 2, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. margieinaz

margieinaz Plankton

Hi everyone,
    I'm brand new to the hobby, and setting up a 55gal tank.

I stocked it with about 60lbs of live rock and 40lbs live sand. Originally, it was going to be a FOWLR tank, but every time I go to the LFS, the corals catch my eye, LOL.
    Yesterday I purchased a pair of clowns, 5 turbo snails and 10 tiny hermit crabs - my first inhabitants into the tank other than the LR and LS.
    I've been testing the water at home, and it was looking good. I brought a sample in with me yesterday and everything looked good from their testing too. The only problem I had was my alkalinity was 4.00. The LFS guy said that it may have been from some bad RO water purchased at my local Water & Ice store, since I haven't used any tap water, and only added in pre-mixed salt water, or the first tank fill from the W&I store that I mixed myself. So I'm planing on doing another 20% water change today.

Anyway, when I was talking with the guy yesterday, I asked him about corals. He said that some of the soft corals weren't too difficult and that I could probably get my feet wet with those if I wanted. I've been reading on here, and on a few other sites, and I'm thinking of taking the plunge. But I don't want to go too fast.

Do you think this is a good idea? Or am I just asking for trouble?
    Are there any good threads you can point me to with a "how-to" flavor that I can read through? Anything to avoid? What should I watch out for?

Since I haven't purchased any fish other than the clowns so far, I can keep with reef-safe fish.
    Are corals like fish, in that you should only add one or two at a time?

Are there any good books you'd recommend I read before venturing into this?