New Tank Questions

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by Darclon, Apr 29, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Darclon

Darclon Plankton

Post #1

I recently received an aquarium as a gift from a family friend and I am tempted to try saltwater. The tank setup was originally configured for saltwater by the first owner (I don’t know the configuration, sorry) but has since gone through other variations/owners. I’m completely new to saltwater but have a little experience with freshwater tanks from my childhood.

The owner of the tank before me had set up the tank for freshwater until becoming bored and threw out/gave away (not sure) the saltwater equipment. The tank setup that I inherited (for free so I’m not complaining) is as follows:

• Glass Tank 30” Wide x 20” Tall x 12.25 Deep. An online aquarium volume calculator estimated this at ~30 gallons. The tank came with a nice stand/cabinet and wooden hood.
    • An old 30” Current Satellite Hood (I’m 98% sure) that is equipped with two 65w Dual Actinic Sunpaq lamps in the 460nm / 420nm ranges.
    • A light timing power strip
    • A Penguin 350 Biowheel HOB filter rated for 70 gallons.
    • 3 bags of Activ-Flora substrate

So if I want to get into saltwater, am I basically starting from scratch equipment-wise? If I did want to get started what are some of the basics that need to be added/modified/installed etc? Also I know this would be approximate at best, but what sort of financial investment am I looking at for a solid but basic setup?

I’ve been reading the newb articles and while very helpful have provided vast amounts of new material for me to digest and process. Although I’m better informed about some of the basics I’m also more confused in some ways than before.

I appreciate any help with this, so thanks in advance.

2. Click Here!

3. smackrock

smackrock Coral Banded Shrimp

Welcome to 3reef!