New to Saltwater, in need of advice/opinions

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by generic_411, Mar 2, 2009.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. generic_411

generic_411 Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

Hello all. This is my first post, and I’ll go ahead and apologize for the length up front.

I have recently started my very first saltwater tank. I have many years of experience in freshwater, and I am looking forward to getting this new tank established.

What I have now is as follows:

2 pieces of VERY nice Fiji live rock
    30 pounds of Argonite (50/50 mix of fine and medium diameter)
    1 Koralia (sp?) I am not sure of the exact model or size type, but it is the next to smallest.
    Penguin 250 bio wheel hang on filter

The tank has been running for almost 4 days now. All tests are good, and I have had no crazy spikes or water troubles so far, though I know it’s still early.

Now for a little more background, the rock was fully cured and a part of a very active and well established reef system when I got it. I know the LFS owner very well, and he happily gave me 2 GREAT pieces from a display tank. It has some great algae growth and lots of life. It went from his tank straight to mine. The kicker is that within the two pieces, a lawnmower goby and emerald crab were hiding. The little guys came out after I place them in my tank (I’ll have some questions about these guys later).

Now to the newbie questions!

First off…how does this set-up look? I know I will be adding a skimmer later, but I didn’t want to get one until the tank was a little more established. I was told that with the rock being cured and very much alive, that I should have a much easier time cycling and establishing the tank, which is why he wanted to give me the rock from his established tank.

I have been thinking o adding another, smaller Koralia to add some movement. Should i do this?