My plan for 65 gallon Salwater tank- Suggestions pls

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by shanmugam, Sep 20, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. shanmugam

shanmugam Plankton

Hi All
    I’m a newbie to marine aquarium. Currently I’m planning for a 65 gallon FOWLR...after some time I wish to upgrade it to reef. I have done a small study and have come up with the design of my aquarium and its components. Please pour in your suggestions on all aspects of design and livestock.

Display tank
    Tank size 48" X 18" X18"
    Lighting SUNSUN T5 HO Lighting Systems
    HFL 1200 : 4 x 39W T5HO's. Dimension : 200 x 60 x 1200 mm
    JEBO Internal Tri-Power Skimmer
    Liver rock 40 lbs(will add some more later)
    Live sand 20 lbs

Sump design

Sump tank size 32"X 15" X18"
    Height of the baffle 12"
    Return section size 12" X 15" X 12" approx 9 gallone
    Intake section size 8" X15" X 12" approx 7 gallon
    Baffles occupy approx 1"
    Refugium 11"X15" X 12" approx 9 gallon
    In refugium 6lbs rock and 6" deep sand bed and some macro algaes
    Below is the link to my sump design

My Sump Design - 3reef Photos

Fishes
    Maroon clown fish
    Black clown fish
    Pakistani butterfly fish
    Indian yellow tailed angel fish
    Yellow tailed damsel
    Small yellow tang

From your experience it would be great if you could help me on the following
    1. What are all the modifications required for the above specifications of display tank and sump?
    2. Will the fishes get along with my aquarium design?
    3. Is bubble trap required in the sump or can I avoid it?
    4. Will there be any problem in maintaining the optimum temperature of the tank if I close it with a hood? I reside in a place which has got average temperature between 20 °C (68.0 °F) and highest 45 °C (113 °F)

please pour in your suggestions...on all aspects ....design/components and livestocks..

2. Click Here!

3. unclejed