Lighting for a 75G reef

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by ENGINE 41, Jun 28, 2007.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. ENGINE 41

ENGINE 41 Astrea Snail

Hi,
    I'm new to this and I have a 75G tank, that I'm looking to make a reef tank. I would like to be able to put anything into it and not worry about too much or not enough lighting. I would like to keep it around $800.00 if possible. I hear people talking about MH, PC, ect. I'm currently building a new stand and hood so I guess I will be able to put a retro kit in but I have'nt the foggiest idea what to buy. I have been looking at the corallife 48'' aqualife pro with 2-150w HQI MH, 2-96w compact fluorescent atinics-3. Thanks Jeff

2. Click Here!

3. Wolffvet

Wolffvet Astrea Snail

Welcome! There is a ton of information on this site that will be very useful to you starting out. Don't be afraid to ask questions and remember to take things slow. If you try to rush anything in saltwater you will end up with problems. The light you mentioned would be an excellent choice and you could easily mount it inside your canopy. It will also save you the trouble of trying to put a retrofit together and it will allow you to keep about anything you want. Good luck and keep us posted!

4. Otty

Otty Giant Squid

MH's are the way to go hands down. If you are a good DIY'r then you can get stuff pretty cheep. 250 Watt Metal Halide Ballast DIY (Do It Yourself). The light fixture you have listed would be a great all in one light if you are wanting to go that way. I prefer MH's and VHO Actinics myself.

5. DrHank

DrHank Plankton

My suggestion would be 2 250w 14K MH retros. You'll get plenty of light and not have to supplement actinic at all.

6. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid