curing live rock

Discussion in 'New To The Hobby' started by djarmb, Feb 11, 2006.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. djarmb

djarmb Plankton

I'm a newbie with my first fish only live rock tank. It is cycled with two damsels, some live rock and a few inverts. I'm going to add new live rock and purchased some uncured lr from the LFS. I'm curing it in a bucket before i introduce it to the tank according to most instructions I've read but my question is this. The lady I bought the rock from said I should feed flake fish food to the uncured live rock while it's going through the curing process. None of the sites I've been to mention feeding while curing the live rock. Is this a good idea?

2. Click Here!

3. Reef Lover

Reef Lover Sea Dragon

Your tank is still cycling. When did you start it?

4. djarmb

djarmb Plankton

My tank is finished cycling. The live rock in it was already cured when I bought it and put it in the tank 6 weeks ago.. This new lr will be added in 4 or 5 weeks but I need to know if I should be feeding the lr (curing in a separate container) while I cure it.

Thanks.

5. Diver_1298

Diver_1298 Eyelash Blennie

No, You don't feed live rock when it is curing.

Jim

6. djarmb

djarmb Plankton

feeding live rock

Thanks all for the help. I won't feed my lr and will wait it out a month or so with the appropriate water changes and tests.

7. dcaribewolf@bellsouth.net

[email protected] Plankton