Question about ammonia

Discussion in 'Goldfish' started by fantails, Jan 4, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. fantails

fantails Plankton

Hi. I just wanted to know a tank with a temp of 68 and a PH of 7.8 what is the highest ammonia that I can have without a water change. Thanks Mike

2. Click Here!

3. bje

bje Long-fin Bannerfish

if you're not in the middle of setting up a new aquarium (first nitrogen cycle) you should have 0/ppm of ammonia (NH3) present. iirc with goldfish i think they can tolerate 10-20/ppm nitrate. years ago when i had a goldfish tank i gave it new water bi-weekly. params never were over 10ppm nitrate. though at the time i was a total newbie and using the test strips still which are not totally accurate from what ive come to learn.

4. bje

bje Long-fin Bannerfish

if they're producing enough ammonia for it to be present in the water and the bacterial colonies cant keep up then you're probably overstocked, overfeeding, and have lack of filtration or a combination of things.

what kind of filtration setup do you have, tank size, established for how long, substrate type/depth, and how many fish?

5. fantails

fantails Plankton

I had to use antibiotics in my gel food for my fish that were in my main tank. I did not have a hospital tank setup at the time I am in the process of cycling a 10 gal for a hospital tank. so i was told that it would compromise my cycle a little. I think my PH is about 7.8 - 8.0 and I know that I don't have much lead way I just was not sure how much lead way that I had. I am at about .12 or less. Mike

6. bje

bje Long-fin Bannerfish

if you have sick fish that you're putting into this 10gal id wait for the ammonia to be 0 before you put them in.

goldfish thrive in 7.2-7.6 PH. if its 7.8-8.0 you're going to stress them and potentially kill them during acclimation to the 10gal.

whats the PH they're in now?

7. bje

bje Long-fin Bannerfish