unidentified life in my tank

Discussion in 'General Reef Topics' started by Jason, Nov 28, 2002.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. Jason

Jason Plankton

Hello, I have a 55 gallon with around 30 lbs of live rock that I have been running without fish for the last six months. It has gone through it's nitrogen and algae cycles and I have recently noticed some wierd life in and around the rock.

The first are small white spots that I see crawling around on the glass near the rocks. At any given time there are well over 200 of them on the front and side alone, and when I clean the glass they all reappear with a day.

The second is a wormlike critter that I have seen in my live rock. It is brownish-white and the only thing I've seen it do is stretch a portion of it's body outside the rock and nip off chunks of coral algae. I've never seen it leave the rock so I assume it lives in it. Also every morning there are several 3-4 inch pieces of worm-shaped poop(?) on the sand near the rocks.

Any ideas?

Jason

2. Click Here!

3. Matt Rogers

Matt Rogers Kingfish

Hey Jason, those bugs are a good sign...

The white little guys are probably 'pods' - amphipods, copepods, etc..

They are not harmful and are actually a good food source for a lot of things.

The worm like thing sounds like a bristle worm. I don't know my worms that well, but I do know that poop is from the worm. I will look up some more and get back to you...

4. karlas

karlas Fire Goby

yep your first one i agree must be some type of pods great detrivores and make good live fish food some could be fortiminferins also

pods [​IMG]

foraminiferins [​IMG]