dosing buffer in 6gal

Discussion in 'General Reef Topics' started by schackmel, Jun 23, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. schackmel

schackmel Giant Squid

what is the safest way to dose buffer in a 6 gal Nano? I think I killed an angler yesterday by raising the PH too fast. I used Marine Buffer by Seachem. Ph was 7.4, ammonia, nitrite and nitrate neg. Angler was huffing and puffing, so I added the buffer just like it said 1-2 scoops per 4 gallon. (I did use the 2 scoops) I am new to dosing buffer and dont normally dose anything in nano tank (obv with ph 7.4!!!) (always mix everything in 75 gal in sump so it dissolves) Did not think about diluting it, did not say to dilute it in bottle. Bottle even said you can not overdose it, so did not think too much about it, until an hour latter, George was laying on his side. Tested pH and it was 8.4 right after he died. IMO I think I shot it up to fast. So how do you all dose little tanks? I did make sure I added the scoops over several minutes over the little water jet....:-/

It might not have been the buffer, as I only had him for a couple days, but it is a fairly big coincidence that it died that close. He ate the day after I got him....

2. Click Here!

3. lunatik_69

lunatik_69 Giant Squid

Sorry for your loss. When dosing, I dose half of what is recommended at first. Then depending on my test, I'll either dose another half or a full dose. Luna

4. geekdafied

geekdafied 3reef Sponsor

why not just do a water change? 20% change on a 6g tank is 1.5g or something.

5. schackmel

schackmel Giant Squid

unfortunately it is too late for ole George for a water change as he died an hour after I dosed it.....
    I will know better then to dose full strength next time. All my tanks (all 3) run low on ph so this is going to be a long term battle. I know next time I go to dose buffer, I will be more leary.