Cycling process

Discussion in 'General Reef Topics' started by zubinmajor, Feb 25, 2008.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. zubinmajor

zubinmajor Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

Hi there,
    My tank with the LR is two weeks old now and all parameters are reading Zero already.Ph is 8. Does this mean the cycling is over and done with? I understood that it takes a pretty long time to cycle thru.

Also, the clown has a thin white film on one of it's eye... is it an infection or is it due to temp. fluctuation? Temp. flactuation being the only thing that has been going up and down. The temp varies between 82 - 86 F.

Would appreciate your comments.

2. Click Here!

3. Grotto

Grotto Spanish Shawl Nudibranch

I'm no expert by any means, but I do think your temp is a little high even at 82, and 86 seems very high... My guess is you have mad evaporation. I try and keep my tank between 78-80. Also, I don't think the cycle is over after just 2 weeks, mine has been going for a month now and is still cycling. My guess is that if you have the test kits etc, and test often you will see a spike in something soon enough, all normal. What have you tested for so far out of curiosity? Other then that just remember to go slow, especially at first. I know first hand it's hard, I plan on waiting another 2 months or more before I consider adding another fish, patience is your best friend at this stage in the game. :) Also, ask many questions during this time :), this is a great time to learn your system.

As for the clown fish, I leave that up to the experts, by the sounds of it he seems ill in some way but I doubt it's ich or anything tank threatening like that. But again, I have no idea :-/

4. coral reefer

coral reefer Giant Squid

As for your Clowns problem, that is often times caused by either high nitrates or lack of dissolved oxygen, which can occur with higher than normal water temperatures.