Sony DSC-H20/B Cyber-shot® 10.1 Megapixel Digital Camera

Discussion in 'Aquarium Photography' started by kss2801, Feb 12, 2010.

to remove this notice and enjoy 3reef content with less ads. 3reef membership is free.

1. kss2801

kss2801 Montipora Capricornis

2. Click Here!

3. rocketmandb

rocketmandb Ocellaris Clown

I've been doing film photography since 1985 and have only ever owned film cameras (35mm and medium format). I only ever had relatively cheap digitals for quick pics.

Last August my wife and I were getting ready for a trip to Costa Rica and I didn't want to lug along all my SLR stuff. So we ended up buying the Sony Cybershot HX1. I have to say that I am extremely impressed with the quality

I believe it is very similar to the H20 with the main exceptions that it can shoot 1080p video and has a 20x zoom vs. 10x. I think there are other feature differences, but I consider those niceties. Picture quality is paramount and in this regard this class of Sony cameras is excellent. Both cameras have a Carl Zeiss lens and the lens makes all the difference.

Below are some pictures I took with my HX1 - both in Costa Rica and tank pics. I think you'd get similar quality out of the H20. I've also included one of the panoramas I took with the HX1. Now this is a cool feature. Not sure if the H20 has this or not.

Edit/Notes:
    - The first lizard below was taken in dark conditions under a rain forest canopy at almost full zoom with a flash. The clarity under those conditions is amazing.

- The panorama is a really cool feature and easy to use. The results are pretty darned good.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Last edited: Feb 12, 2010
    1 person likes this.
  4. kss2801